Shubhankar Sharma All-India Invitational has its Dubai qualifiers

Shubhankar Sharma - TheGolfingHub
Shubhankar Sharma with the participants of the Tour Championship, Shubhankar Sharma All-India Invitational at the Panchkula Golf Club.

Come January 2024, and four promising names from the Indian circuit will be scripting a piece of history for themselves by teeing off at the Junior Dubai Desert Classic, which is sanctioned by the Emirates Golf Federation.

Scheduled from January 13-14 at the Faldo and Majlis Courses of the Emirates Golf Club, Ajay Kumar, Amreen Sandhu, Ansh Dhingra and Parnika Sharma earned the distinction by  winning the Tour Championship of the Shubhankar Sharma All-India Invitational at the Panchkula Golf Club earlier this week.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Shubhankar Sharma (@shubhankargolf)

The initiative is part of Shubhankar’s endeavour to give back to Indian golf after making the highest levels of professional golf, and his presence at the DP World Tour‘s Dubai Desert Classic as a player will be a source of immense inspiration for the youngsters.

It doesn’t end here as Chaitanya Pandey, Smira Bhambari, Zorawar Sandhu and Abner Sengar, all of them winners in their categories at Panchkula, will get to watch Shubhankar, a two-time winner on the DP World Tour, compete with the best in the world, and make crucial notes to implement in their journeys.

Ajay Kumar, who came into the Tour Championship from the Ambala qualifier, shot a two-day total of 151 (76, 75) to make it to Dubai in ‘A’ Boys. Another qualifier Samarpratap Singh Sandhu 156 (75, 81) came next. The category was won by Krish Chawla, who was not part of the race to Dubai, with scores of 71, 74 for a total of 145.

Toppers from the Ambala qualifiers ruled the roost in A Girls as Amreen Sandhu topped and qualified for Dubai with a total of 149 (76, 73). She was followed by Charvi Vaid 152 (76, 76) and Raza Kaur 163 (87, 76).

Ansh Dhingra, another winner from the Ambala leg, qualified for the Junior Dubai Desert Classic with scores of 76, 75 for a total of 151 in Category ‘B’ Boys. Arjunveer Shishir 149 (72, 77) was the winner in the category but was not in the race to be on the plane to Dubai. Deeyon Sian Pao 158 (82, 76) came third.

Parnika Sharma was the top name and Dubai qualifier in B Girls with a total of 151 (74, 77). She was followed by Myra Kumar 154 (78, 76) and Precious Bansal 158 (79, 79).

Chaitanya Pandey booked his seat to watch Shubhankar tee-off in Dubai by shooting a 8-under 64 on Day 1, and followed with a 69 for a winning total of 133 in C Boys. Jaibir Singh Kang 139 (68, 71) and Shaurya Dang 142 (70, 72) finished second and third, respectively.

In C Girls, Smira Bhambari qualified for Dubai with a total of 164 (89, 75). Rabab Kahlon 166 (83, 83) and Sanvi Bandaru 171 (88, 83) were the next best names.

In Category D Boys, Zorawar Sandhu was the Dubai qualifier with a total of 138 (66, 72), and was followed on the leaderboard by Dhruv Lamba 141 (65, 76) and Hridaan Saraogi 143 (74, 69).

Among girls in this category, Abner Sengar 156 (76, 80) qualified, and was followed by Padam Vibhuti 162 (88, 74). The category was won by Ojaswini Saraswat (126) with prolific rounds of 63, but was not part of the Dubai race.

The Amateur category wasn’t eligible for the Dubai prizes, but saw keen competition. Anant Digvijay Singh 144 (71, 73), Pranay Kapur 154 (79, 75) and Harjit Singh Sandhu 158 (78, 80) as the top names.