Low scores light up Shubhankar Sharma Invitational qualifier

Shubhankar Sharma Invitational - TheGolfingHub
Tournament host Shubhankar Sharma poses with the winners of City Qualifier 2 of the Shubhankar Sharma Invitational at Jaypee Greens Wish Town.

For aspirants, golf is about aiming at life under-par, and the Amateur category in the City Qualifier of the Shubhankar Sharma Invitational showed how its done at Jaypee Greens Wish Town.

Leading the way was Karan Mehto with a 5-under 67, for the day’s best card, and his one-shot win over Bikram Singh (63). Keeping up with the under-par flavour was Bipin Mukhiya, who finished third with a 1-under 66.

Also Read: Usha’s 13th DGC Junior Tournament a boon for Keya, Jujhar 

In Amateur girls, Jia Kochhar (74) and Tannishtha Dhyani (79) were the top names.

‘B’ Boys also saw the trend of low scores. Kartik Singh shot a 4-under 67 to bag the top prize, two shots ahead of Ranveer Mitroo and Bhavesh Nirwan (65).

As per the qualification process, Categories A to D had the top-three boys and top-two girls moving up.

In ‘B’ Girls, Parnika Sharma’s was the lone under-par card of 1-under 66. Apeksha David and Myra Kumar were tied for second at 75, but the former nosed ahead with a better back-nine score.

Arindam Sudan ensured he qualified from ‘A’ Boys as the top name with a 2-over 69 despite being tied with Aaryaveer Khoda, courtesy a lower back-nine score. Devin Singh was third with a 71.

Hunar Brar (74) worked up a nine-shot win over Aakansha Dhyani (83). Aarohi Attri followed with a 85.

Contest in Category ‘C’ Boys was close with the leaders bunched together. Aney Shankkar’s 73 allowed him to prevail by a shot over Chaitanya Pandey (74). Arihaan Beri shot 76 for the third spot.

Shambhavi Chaturvedi would have come away hopeful after shooting a 2-over 67 for the top spot in ‘C’ Girls. Smira Bhambri was a shot back at 70, while Rehnoor Malik finished with a 75.

Aanya Dandiryal (76) and Abner Sengar (85) were the automatic qualifiers from ‘D’ Girls, but the boys’ section was a much closer affair. Shouryaveer Narain eked out a narrow one-shot win with a 69 over Dhruv Lamba (70). Samar Baijal was third with a 72.

The tiny tots in Category E put up a good performance as well. Reyansh Ahlawat was the top name at 2-over 35, followed by Avviraaj Kalia (37) and Bhavy Rattan (46).

In girls, Rehana Malik (38) was the top name and was followed by Aaradhya Rawat and Lavanya Sharma.