ICC confirms hefty pay cheques for T20 World Cup teams

The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will start in Oman from October 17
The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will start in Oman from October 17.

The International Cricket Council has confirmed hefty cheques for the T20 World Cup 2021, to be played in Oman and the UAE from October 17.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 champions will take home a winners’ cheque of $ 1.6 million while the runners up will get half that amount, the International Cricket Council confirmed today.

All 16 competing teams will receive part of the $5.6m allocated as prize money for the tournament, which will be played in the United Arab Emirates and Oman from 17 October to 14 November.

The two losing semi-finalists will receive $400,000 each, ICC has stated in a Press note.

As in 2016, there will be a bonus amount for every match that teams win in the Super 12 stage. The winner in each of the 30 games in that phase will take home $40,000 from the total prize pot of $1,200,000.

Also Read:- Indian Super League prize money reallocated; up to 9.5 crore for champions  

Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies have all booked the Super 12 stage berth.

The eight teams whose ICC Men’s T20 World Cup campaign ends at that stage will receive $ 70,000 each.

The same structure is in place for the first-round victories – with $40,000 available to those who win each of the 12 games, amounting to $480,000.

The four teams knocked out in the first round will take $40,000 each.

Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, and Sri Lanka will be playing the qualifying round.

Prize Money table: Winners – $ 1,600,000; Runners-up – $ 800,000; Losing Semi-finalists – $ 400,000 each; Round 2 Winners – $ 40,000 each; Round 2 participants – $ 70,000 each; Round 1 winners- $ 40,000.

Total Prize purse – $ 5,600,000.

Readmore:- India in talks to host 2036 Olympic Games: IOC President