Vinamra, Keya, Ranveer among top names; NCR Cup ends on high note

NCR Cup - TheGolfingHub
Prize winners from the NCR Cup, 6th Junior Golf Tournament organised by the Delhi Golf Society, at the Delhi Golf Club on Friday.

Such are the glorious uncertainties of golf.

Vinamra Anand, the lone wolf to shoot under-par in Category ‘A’ Boys, put up his worst show on the final day of the NCR Cup, 6th Junior Golf Tournament organised by the Delhi Golf Society. Yet, the previous two days’ showing was enough to bail him out of Friday’s mess, and even handed a four-shot win at the Delhi Golf Club’s Lodhi Course.

Related: Delhi Golf Club all set for pulsating finish to NCR Cup

If Vinamra (70, 74, 78) was lucky, Zoravar Singh Star, overnight sole second, paid the price for shooting a 81. He slipped to T3 with Hiransh Singh, and Yash Chaudhary grabbed the runner-up spot with a final day 77. His scores read (74, 75, 77).

Vinamra Anand - TheGolfingHub
Vinamra Anand topped the highly competitive ‘A’ Boys at the NCR Cup.

Like Vinamra, Keya Badugu made it a wire-to-wire win in ‘A’ Girls, and with a three-day score of 240 (81, 80, 79) edged out Mannat Brar (82, 80, 79) by a shot.

In the battle of friends, Ranveer Mitroo (80, 74, 79), the overnight leader, romped home comfortably by three shots over practice partner Uday Aditya Middha (76, 80, 80).

Ranveer Mitroo - TheGolfingHub
Ranveer Mitroo was feted like a pro after winning ‘B’ Boys of the NCR Cup.

Among girls in this category, Shrestha Shukla (77, 81, 79) too maintained her supremacy and won by two shots over Prarthana Khanna (82, 78, 79).

After a 3-under 59, Prince Bainsla would have been disappointed with the level-par card on the par-62 Peacock Course, but the whopping  nine-shot win over Rudhra Pratap Bhati (65, 65) in ‘C’ Boys would have lifted his spirit. Anas Khan (69, 66) was next in line.

Kashika Senthil put up a far improved show from Thursday’s 73, and the 66 stamped her authority over Nyra Singh (81, 76) in ‘C’ Girls. Yaashna Duggal (87, 99) finished third.

‘D’ Boys was a much closely contested affair. Chaitanya Pandey (66, 65) was the top name with a four-shot margin over Aditya Misra (69, 66). Arnav Kumar (71, 69) was next.

In ‘D’ girls, Shubhika Sachdeva (67, 76) won comfortably by four shots over Dalisha Chetry (75, 72), followed by Annika Chendira (79, 76).

Samar Baijal (32, 35), Nalinaksh (36, 33) and Divjot Gupta (34, 35) completed the top names in ‘E’ Boys, while the girls was all about Hayoun Roh (46, 43), Hamin Lee (45, 45) and Devina (52, 49).

Photo Credit: Virendra Singh Gosain